Sustaining Your Artist Spirit

December 5 @ 3pm ET / 2pm CT

Masi will lead a workshop for artists on how to keep the tap of your creativity open and sustain your creative practice even under challenging circumstances. Hosted by MAESTRA Music.

This Golden Day

november 19-22

Masi has composed the music for an original number, with libretto by Tia DeShazor, for this virtual musical commissioned by Live & In Color and premiering with Emerson College in live online performances in November. Directed by Devanand Janki.

Kelsey Pharr, Jr. Speaker Series

Oct 2020 - May 2021

This new series named in honor of one of Northwestern University's first Black alums to go on to success in musical theatre, Kelsey Pharr, Jr. (1917-1961) is co-curated by Masi Asare and fellow Northwestern professor Roger Ellis. The inaugural 2020-21 series features musical theatre artists of color Lili-Anne Brown, Jess McLeod, and Brian Quijada.

Pandemic Songs, Vol. 1

fall 2020

The much-requested sheet music for Masi's Pandemic Songs will soon be available for purchase. To include "New dreams are coming," "Spare the time," "From Then," "Lullaby," and more. Check back here for updates later this fall!

New Virtual Play

September 10 @ 6pm CT / 7pm ET

Masi has a new short play in the virtual play collection Days of Re-Creation, premiering Sep 10. The collection includes work by BD Wong, SEVAN, AriDy Nox, Erlina Ortiz, Nandita Shenoy, and Lauren Yee. Masi's piece The Strong Friend, and Company is directed by Aneesh Sheth and stars L Morgan Lee, Sherz Aletaha, and Sushma Saha.

Broadway on Demand

August 2020

Masi has a dedicated artist page on the new streaming site Broadway on Demand. The page features rarely seen videos of Masi's musical theatre writing, and new pandemic-era songs, free to watch.

Performing Black Futures Panel

August 5, 2020

Masi will speak on the panel "Anti-Racism and the Futures of Theater and Performance Studies Professionalization" at the Association for Theatre in Higher Education (ATHE) Performance Studies Focus Group's postconference, via Zoom. 

New Songs Now In Your Living Room

July 30, 2020 @ 8pm ET / 7pm CT

Sharing some new songs in the at-home livestream of this unplugged concert series from Rattlestick Playwrights Theater, NYC, with this talented lineup of theatre songwriters.

MAESTRA Technical Workshop

May 14, 2020

A free/pay-what-you-can session for MAESTRA's technical workshop series. The workshop draws on Masi's decade of experience as a grant writer and fundraiser, when she raised millions of dollars for arts and education organizations. Missed the class? You can rent the video replay, click below.

Voicing Across Distance Podcast

April 2020

Announcing a new podcast hosted by Dr. Masi Asare, on listening for voices and vocal sound in our historical moment, across social distance. Bringing together voice scholars and practitioners.